Just Another Boring Blog About Different Subjects

Emerald Viewer.. denial-of-service attack? WTF?

Got this email right now…

Dear Second Life Resident,

Late last week, we discovered a denial-of-service attack that was being served through the widely distributed Emerald third-party viewer. This is in direct violation of our third-party viewer policy (part 2, section d, paragraph iii).

We have removed Emerald from the list of third-party viewers, and are now in touch with the Emerald team to discuss what can happen next. We did this to do our best to protect the safety and security of Second Life users. We will not tolerate a viewer that includes malicious code, nor will we tolerate development teams with a history of violating users’ trust or disrupting their lives.

We take privacy, safety, and security very seriously, and we will act to the best of our abilities to protect it. We have not yet disabled logins via the Emerald viewer, but will do so if we feel the software and the team behind it is not able to meet the standards we’ve set. While Emerald is currently the focus of our attention because of what happened recently, all third-party viewers are held to the same standard, and must comply with the third-party viewer policy. Read more >>

If you have been using the Emerald viewer, for now we would encourage you to consider either one of the Linden Lab viewers, or an alternative third-party viewer.

Philip Linden

denial-of-service attack that was being served through the widely distributed Emerald third-party viewer? Emerald?

Im not sure why I cant believe this.. but it seems I have to.

I hope all will be ok soon.. If they shut down Emerald Viewer.. what should I use then to login Second Life? Oh my GOD! Horror-Scenario..

I hope I dont have to use the Viewer 2.0 for the future. :(

6 responses

  1. I wrote a bit on it. I didn’t want to believe it either.

    http://mistletoeethaniel.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/emerald-viewer-debacle-more-info-resignations/

    August 24, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  2. V

    …I just hope this isn’t some underhanded sneaky scheme on the part of LL to slowly eradicate all the competition so we HAVE to use their disgustingly inefficient and frustrating viewer?

    August 24, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  3. V

    Sorry to double comment, check out the Modular System blog (http://blog.modularsystems.sl/2010/08/22/emerald-resurgence/) it sounds a little more relieving. Perhaps it’s not as bad as we all fear. Fingers crossed!

    August 24, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  4. @mistletoee Thanks for your blogpost…

    @V Well this info was extremly unbelievable for me too. I am unsure now.. gathering already tons of infos from differend blogs and other sites as well. I will look at the modularsystem site too..

    So yea right now we have two options…

    1. All this about Emerald is true..
    2. LL want to kill competitors..

    Now I need to read much.

    Thanks for your comments.

    August 24, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  5. I would be more willing to think that it was an attempt by LL to “kill competitors” if not for the information divulged by Modular Systems themselves, on their own blog.

    August 24, 2010 at 7:40 pm

  6. Ok I get it.. I just couldnt believe.. 2 month away from Sl and now I just was a bit overstrained with this “top news” about SL. :)

    After reading the emerald blog and see this:
    “Also today, as a result of the incidents in question, Linden Lab removed Emerald from the TPVD. We expected this might happen and have since provided the Lab with information regarding our new changes, structure and goals. We hope to be back on the TPVD soon.”

    It seems that Emerald still has a future.. I hope..

    I hope they will follow LL instructions to get back on the TPVD.

    If I can still trust them? Dunno.. its just that I wont use 2.0 Viewer.. if I use any other Viewer in the future.. then maybe imprudence.. or Emerald if all will be ok again. But how I said.. dunno if we can trust them yet.

    mistlet you wrote in your blog that you did deinstall the Emerald.. I did now too just to be sure.. Also did change every passwort not only for my main.. also for the alts.

    Lets see what will happen in the future.

    :)

    August 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers