Just Another Boring Blog About Different Subjects

How and why did you and me start to build in SL?

Today I thought back and asked my self how and why I did start building in Second Life.

First of all I need to say that working with Grafics wasnt new for me. Some peoples in the family do so in with ther jobs but also as hobby. So when I was pretty young I touched a tool called Truespace if I remind right. My uncle did let me play with it for a while when I visited him. First I didnt understand anything but then when he did show me some stuff, i´ve been amazed and wanted to learn more. But anyhow it was not so great compared to tools we have today. So soon I found a software magazine in a Kiosk near my home. There was a Software on the frontpage called “Maxon Cinema 4d”. I also could read on the frontpage that this Software is on the Magazin-CD as something like a Demo or Freeware (With less Features then the Fullversion). I went back at home as I didnt have enough money in my wallet. Shocked I´ve noticed that I dont have more money at home too. My mother wasnt at home so I went to my grandpa.. “Grandpa? I have a question.. may I ask you if you borrow me some money? I did see a magazin in the Kiosk and I defenetly need it!”. My Grandpa said: “Cutie, you dont need to borrow anything.. if it is so importend for you.. take this money and get it!”. Well, I didnt like to ask him because ask for money makes me shy. But my Grandpa did understand and helped me out. So i´ve got this new Software then and checked it out. It was more complicated but I could understand it as there were some Tutorials in the Magazin and on the CD.

So this is how I started with 3d Applications.. I did try those stuff out already before on a Amiga System but I really was to young to understand it and I really cant remember the Name of the 3d Software from the Amiga.

However, after getting the Demo of Cinema 4d for PC.. I was pretty happy. Later I had a job and could afford to buy the original Version. Schock! I really didnt know that this hobby is so expansive.. If I remember right I had to pay a 4 month income of my job to buy it. If your second hobby is playing Guitar.. damn.. you sometimes wish you had choosen other Hobbys.

At least those creative hobbys are the best hobbys and even if you wasn´t the best student at school times.. later after school you get your education trough creativy hobbys. Internet came and I had the feeling of a big boost of education on my own. Its just as you had a hobby which forced you to read much. So if you ask me “Is a creative Hobby educate you?” I would answer pretty fast “Indeed, it does and it will! It is education!”. I just think so because in school I wasnt good in english. Im sure that I am still not good in english but at least I can read it and I can write some english even if its not perfect. But I didn´t learn it at school. I had to learn it as the most Turotials you need for your hobby are writen in english. With a translator I did master this complicated mission. Soon I noticed that I additionally did perceive a lot of vocabulary of a foreign language. Funny in consideration of the fact that I just wanted to learn something about a 3d Application. So yes those Hobbys are additionally Education in Math, foreign Language and so on..

As you see I did make a digression. But this is what I think about today.. So I feel philosophical today :P

So later I did realize that using a 3d Application is not all. Often you are in need of textures you cant find for free or you dont have the money for. So I came to Photoshop. I did read several Tutorials and did learn how to work with 2d stuff.

One day I started Second Life but not because the Fact that this is a Platform for Content Creation too. No, I did use it more for listening music, chatting, communication, dancing and all the funny stuff.

After browsing Torley´s Second Life Video Tutorials.. I found out that you can build in Second Life too. As I didnt know how to start.. I really didnt know where I could start to build and how I open the menu to build I was interested on that much more. Torley provided a lot of basic Videos. Lots of good Turorials you need to start.

I can remember the first Video which did bring me to Second Life Content Creation, and I found it on YouTube today. This was the first Movie I did see from Torley:

How to make a Flag that waves in the Wind. I did see this movie again and again. But I still didnt know where I can build. A friendly person told me that I have to search for a “Sandbox” inworld. He told me that there is everyone allowed to build. I found my first Sandbox and just started the Video again. I did recreate what Torley told me. It was much more simple then a 3d Application and soon I did start to create my own ideas in Second Life.

Today I really would advice every Person who still didnt build in Second Life because they think its complicated, to try it out. There are lots of friendly builders who are helpful. Many peoples did give me some good informations when I was beginner. There is also a lot of Text and Video Material about all this. So if you arent a Creator then try it. If you are a Creator, you maybe say that I am right if I say “It is not so complicated as it seems”.

At least I am not perfect with this Hobby. Neither with 3d Applications, 2d Applications or Second Life. The question is anyway not “How good we are?”. The question should be “Do we have fun?”. I can say..yes I have fun with all of it. And sometimes I lose the fun but then I still can take my Guitar or other Hobbys and refresh. At happened many times and I even came back to Second Life and started new Projects.

So as the Blogpost-Titel said “How and why did you and me start to build in SL?” , I am for sure interested in your Story too. Just post a comment here or do you maybe have a own Blogpost about your beginning of Second Life Content Creation? Just put the Link here and I defenetly will read it. Its interesting how other peoples came to all this!

So I hope I didnt bore you to much with my Story as I know noticed I did write pretty much. Hope it was anyway interesting for you. And just let me know if you have a cool Story about that Topic on your Blog too.. or just drop a Line here in the Commentfield.

Greetings

2 responses

  1. What a great post Miyo :)I can’t remember why I started to build but I am glad I did and you are right….you may come to SL and learn all sorts of new things :D

    August 28, 2010 at 11:47 pm

  2. Howdy,

    I am very happy that you like my Post. :)

    You are absolotly right. Many peoples who dont know SL much.. they think this is just another Game.
    But at least if you try it out.. you can learn lot of stuff. As you said: “you may come to SL and learn all sorts of new things”.

    This hits the nail on the head. :)

    August 29, 2010 at 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers