Just Another Boring Blog About Different Subjects

Second Life Apez.Vend is closing the doors.

Today I´ve got a notecard from Apez which tells me following:

Hi everyone.

As you may be aware, Apez.Vend is closing its doors soon, due to the liquidation of Apez. In order to keep your sales flowing, you will need to move to another vendor system. You can read more about this announcement here:  http://www.apez.biz/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3083

To make this process easier for you, CasperTech have negotiated a deal with Apez to provide a fast, easy migration for your products, profit sharing, collections, customer and sales data to CasperVend.

(This message is being delivered by CasperTech with the cooperation of Apez, and is being delivered to you as an Apez.Vend customer. This is the only message you will receive from CasperTech about the vendor network, unless you opt to go proceed with the migration.)

HOW DO I GET THE MIGRATION KIT?
=====================

The migration kit is available on SL Marketplace at:

https://marketplace.secondlife.com/p/i/1685823

WHAT ELSE DO I NEED TO DO?
==================

Once the migration has completed, you need to move your items into a CasperVend Drop Box.  This is available in the “free” box distributed with the  migration kit  (Don’t worry if you don’t want to use the free vendors, the dropboxes are the same).

You will also need to rez new vendors, and assign the profiles (which are collections ported from apez) to your vendors. To do that, rez a vendor, and click the “CasperVend” logo in the bottom left hand corner.  (Choose a password or enter it if it asks you to).  Then you’ll be at the vendor configuration page.  If you look near the top of the page, you will see a “Profile” entry. Simply change that profile to the collection you want to use.   If you want more than one collection showing in your vendor, you can then click “edit profile” and add other groups to it.

WHAT IS CASPERVEND?
==============

CasperVend is a very fast, efficient networked vendor system for Second Life and other grids.  It will provide many features that you haven’t been able to enjoy with Apez (such as sub-collections and detailed stats analysis),  but also lacks some features of the Apez system (such as public franchises).

WILL I NEED TO BUY THE NEW SYSTEM?
========================

No, the migration kit comes with a copy of our “free” bundle.  This bundle will collect 5% of each sale as commission for CasperVend.  If you would prefer, you can upgrade to one of the paid bundles which do not incur a commission fee.  􀀀

WHAT WILL BE MIGRATED?
================

The following data will be moved automatically and instantly:

- Item information
– Texture information
– Product information
– Collections
– Profit shares
– Item permissions

The following data will be moved automatically but not instantly, queued, likely available within 24 hours:

- Sales history

The following data will then be automatically generated from the sales data:

- Customer data

WHAT’S DIFFERENT WITH CASPERVEND?
========================

You’ll notice several differences with our system.

1.  CasperVend does NOT use a “man-in-the-middle” account for financial transactions.  All vendor payments go directly to the creator.

2.  Every CasperVend  box and vendor uses just one script, to significantly reduce the lag impact on your sim.

3.  CasperVend vendors scroll item-by-item instead of by pages.  You can skip forwards by clicking on the preview panels.

4.  “Collections” are called “Profiles” and “Groups” in CasperVend.    Profiles contain products AND groups.  Groups are like sub-profiles and contain only products.  You can only assign ONE profile to a vendor, but you can assign multiple groups or products to profiles.

5.  CasperVend is a lot more restrictive on affiliate vending and franchise vending.   If you want other people to be able to sell your items, you will need to use our AffiliateVend plugin (available in the complete package or as an extra purchase) and give the affiliate vendors out.

6. Updates to vendors are fully automated and easy using our UpgradeBee.

7.  Support is easy to obtain.

WHAT IF I NEED HELP?
=============

There are several things you can do:

1.   Join the “CasperVend User Support Group”, and send a message in there.   I’d prefer this rather than IMing me directly, since this will allow others to see the solutions.

2.   Join our forums at http://forums.caspertech.sl — you can use your CasperVend username and password to login.

3.  Check out the CasperVend quick start guide on YouTube:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baJCNBPBh0o&fmt=22

4.  Contact myself – Casper Warden – and I will do anything I can to help.

I NEED X FEATURE, CAN YOU ADD IT PLEASE?
==========================

Most likely, YES!    I am very proactive with adding requested features.   The only thing I will NOT add – because I disagree with the business model – is  man-in-the-middle transaction processing and public franchising.

If there’s a feature you’d like to see, please list it on the forums at http://forums.caspertech.sl/

 

So didnt we already know before? Apez support was so much horrible. I mean the whole system was not to bad in my opinion. I did like some features. But at least this is not enough. There was many problems. You maybe did see all the trouble in the forums over there. Or in the inworld groups. Peoples asked for money.. yea in some cases Apez did eat your Linden Dollars. Some day it did eat 9000 L$ from me.

So in my opinion it is good that this horrible story has now an end.

Now CasperVend have negotiated a deal with Apez to provide a fast, easy migration for your products, profit sharing, collections, customer and sales data. But why should we trust this new Label now? If you ask me.. no I wont trust the new Label. Im not even sure who is behind the new label. Maybe the same peoples? I dont know. Maybe you know more.

However. For me is the new label not interesting. Not even if its a total differend company.

That was a funny year full of Second Life Crysis. Didnt we have enought funny storys this year? :D

9 responses

  1. Sally Sparrow

    There’s a rumour that CasperVend and Apez have the same folks behind them. They needed a quick way to shed the debts of Apez — so close one, start another, and bingo.

    Be very, very careful …

    December 3, 2010 at 1:56 pm

  2. In fact I only come to the same suspicion.

    So .. yep very careful we need to be.

    If you ask me.. for me both is a dead service which I never will trust again. CasperVend or Apez.. for me it is also the same and I wont trust.

    December 3, 2010 at 2:30 pm

  3. Dave McFarlane

    Very sensible — having just persuaded their customers to buy caspervend, now apez are saying they’re selling their whole system to *another* third party, so Apez users may have ended up buying caspervend entirely pointlessly.

    Glad I stuck with hippoVEND. JEVN is great too. Sometimes the old, established guys are the best.

    December 10, 2010 at 5:22 pm

  4. Indeed. I will choose another vendor system as well. I guess it will be hippoVend too.

    December 11, 2010 at 4:22 am

  5. Shifty Centaur

    I actually stumbled across Casper’s products before Apez announced they were going down, while looking for a replacement for Apez’s lag prone products.

    I was working for a sim that had a number of vendors, and 78 Apez rental boxes. The script time from the rental boxes alone was so horrible, I’ll let the numbers speak for themselves.

    78 boxes x 0.041ms avg = 3.198ms (14.5% avail script time)
    78 boxes x 24 scripts = 1872 total scripts

    The fact that Casper was in IM’s with me when he was having his first meeting with Cenji’s alt at Apez Sands may not mean anything to you folks, or the fact that I did TP to Apez Sands and witnessed the two meeting. He actually told me what the meeting was about, and I have chat logs of it all, including my TP into Apez Sands, and the avatars in sim. If he and Apez were truly connected, there would have been no need for them to meet in world.

    When he told me what they were discussing, and that he was going to create a Apez to Casper migration kit, I just thought “Great! Bonus for us, and less work!”

    Originally, I was just looking at his vendor, but then I asked if he had plans for rental boxes (our major source of lag). At first, he didn’t want to step on the toes of a friend who was creating one. With a little coaxing, I thought it’d be a nice addition to his vendor system, since all the boxes and sales could be tracked with one system. Although I’m still waiting on it, I know it’ll be worthwhile with the quality of work I’ve seen so far from him.

    His business model is different from Apez, and he definitely doesn’t give the type of service you got from Apez (IE: none). He’s a regular guy that likes making superior products, and listens to the customer. Got a feature request? A product idea? Yeah, he’ll listen to ya. The different business model kinda makes it hard for Casper to screw ya, not that I could see him doing that.

    The problem with the old, established guys is that they already have a customer base. They don’t care about making their product any better, because they’re already established, and are even known among people who’ve never even used their products. Hippo’s and JEVN’s products are almost as bad as Apez’s–The numbers speak for themselves.

    JEVN Vendor > [14:09] Counted scripts on object b5 v2: 11 (0.025ms)
    [14:09] Counted scripts on object hippoVEND Vendor v2.6 (1P): 10 (0.018ms)
    [14:10] Counted scripts on object hippoVEND Server v2.6: 20 (0.037ms)
    [14:17] Counted scripts on object CasperVend Vendor: 1 (0.003ms)

    If you need any further info, drop by his site – http://forums.caspertech.sl

    Hell, drop by his shop in Young and pick up the free vendor to play with, just to see how it functions.

    This is just my 2 cents…feel free to message me in world to verify that this post belongs to me.

    December 18, 2010 at 10:31 pm

  6. I suggest everyone read this post

    http://www.apez.biz/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3096

    So now everyone can at least see that apez wasn’t ever out to rip anyone off and never would!! Things just got a bit out of control and too large for basically one person with help from me when i could but i was very limited in what i was able to do.

    Snap

    February 5, 2011 at 10:33 am

  7. I think its all about trust. Nevermind if they wanted to rip off someone, or that things just went out of control. At least there is the customer who was quit unhappy. And then it is infact comprehendible if peoples are carefull with new services they try.

    Since I sell only via Marketplace SL I do not need a new vendorsystem. But if I would start inworld business again.. I would definitely choose Hippo but not CasperVend. There are some reasons why.

    February 9, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  8. Apez don’t close doors, was acquired by Egoisme and i am the CEO of Egoisme. Now until we have the full operating system we can’t inform more about apez, but apez don’t close. nobody else it is allwoed to share or say that have partnership with or without Apez since we have buy it :)

    February 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm

  9. Whats your point? I dont understand what you want to say :D

    February 15, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers