Just Another Boring Blog About Different Subjects

Battlefield 3 System Requirements revealed!

EDIT and Update: System Requirements are now really official revealed: Click here – Battlefield 3 System Requirments

Ok the heading of the blogpost is a lie. In fact the System Requirements for Battlefield 3 aren´t revealed now and that is my problem!

Long time ago I did play Battlefield 2 with all my friends but after that time we had a huge brake with ego shooter´s because we did play World of Warcaft most of our time then.

But few days ago I did get a phone call from one of my old friends and BF2 clan members.. he said “Hey cutie.. did you hear about BF 3 which will be released soon at autumn 2011?”…

He did continue.. “I did speak with all our old clan mates and most of them will play BF 3 because it wont be similar like that crap Bad Company 2.. it will be a real sequel of BF 2 and BF 2142!”

I must admit he infected me with his euphorias about the coming Battlefield 3.

Ok so I checked the internet if there are any System Requirements revealed but in fact they arent revealed yet. All what we know is that it will use the Frostbite 2 Engine.

So now I am not sure what to do.. here is my hardware equipment I use at the moment:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.0GHz Dual-Core Prozessor PiB Sockel AM2 2x1024kByte L2-Cache 1000MHz FSB

RAM: Corsair TwinX 2 x 2GB CL5 with 5-5-5-18 XMS DDR2-800 RAM (4gb)

Videocard: NVIDIA GeForce Gainward GTS 250 with 512 mb

Mainboard: Gigabyte M56S-S3

OS: Windows 7

So I am not sure if this will be enough. Should I upgrade to a better videocard? I also could upgrade my 4gb Ram to 8gb Ram? I dont know if those games use 8gb.. Im not sure if this will be an improvement.

If I would need a new CPU.. Then I can buy a new mainboard because I cant use higher CPU`s then this with my mainboard.. Oh and if I would need a new mainboard.. then I also need new DDR3 Ram and that would cost me a lot all together.

So thats why I hope that upgrading will do it! Whats your opinion or suggestion? And what do you think will Battlefield 3 require? I would be happy if you leave a comment here. :)

EDIT: Since I was able to start the BETA of Battlefield 3, I can tell you that the game works on my system very very well without performance issues. The only change on my system is that I bought a Gainward GTX 570 Phantom. No FPS Problems. BF3 is running smooth on my system.
 

36 responses

  1. I run a BF3 site, came here through Twitter and was quite disappointed to see that the news post was misleading.

    However, you can read my site’s content page about the theorized minimum reqs for BF3 here:

    http://www.bf3source.com/minreqs

    Are you running Windows XP? XP and DX9 graphics cards are not supported. I believe the card you have is DX10, however your specs are definitely on the “struggling” end when it comes to running BF3. I can’t say if it will run or not until we know the requirements better, but if your current PC can run it, it will be on VERY low settings.

    You will definitely want to upgrade your graphics card, and I hate to say it but you should probably upgrade your CPU too. I know that basically means you have to replace CPU, mobo and RAM, but that’s how it is. That processor is getting old and probably will bottleneck any decent graphics card in BF3.

    I would get one of the new socket AM3 quadcore AMD CPUs (Phenom II X4 970 for example) or an intel i5 and an appropriate mobo. You don’t need more than 4 gigs of RAM, expanding that won’t help but you’ll need to upgrade to DDR3 like you said anyway.

    Hope this helped.

    February 28, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  2. Hey sorry for the misleading heading :) Its just one of my afflictions because I did read anywhere a pro blog guide where they wrote that provoking headings get more likeley blog readers.. lol :)

    About my OS… I use Windows 7 and my Videocard is a DX10 card.

    Yep I think thats what I didnt want to hear but I guess you are right.. My specs are out soon..

    But as you said.. we still dont know and its all theory.. but the release will be autumn and that is the only good news because its much time to save some money for a better rig.

    All your informations are very appreciated even if the truth is hard.. there must be defenetly new hardware in my case anyway someday. The computer business is to fast.. today you buy new stuff and tommorow it will be out :D

    Yea I think I will now start to save money for an AM3 cpu.. Im a fan of AMD so this will be the choice then. Its just sad that I then need new ram and mobo too… oh and maybe a new video card..

    I really miss the times when devs and publishers did release demo versions of ther game. However.. Systemrequirments will do it too..

    I just save money and then I can still see what to do.. much time til release.

    Thanks for your thoughts.. for your cool BFside link.. and for your great comment here. :) Hope your not to disappointed.. I know the heading was kind of unfair :P

    February 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    • mario

      ok hi i was looking for the System Requirements to for this game
      sooooo im new here, ok 1st of all you dont need to buy ddr3 ok
      i had almost the same rig
      2nd you just need a better cpu and video card:
      i got a phenom ii x4 3.2 (840) -109.99-
      and a gtx560 (dx11) -199.99-
      —-amd processors backward compatible, so i dont think you need a new mobo (motherboard)

      June 20, 2011 at 9:13 pm

      • Atm I think about purchasing the gtx560.. But I still wait some month and monitor the market.

        June 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    • byebeye

      Provoking headlines – Not outright lies. Won’t come back.

      June 24, 2011 at 8:24 pm

      • Cool :) I like that.

        June 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm

  3. No problem :)

    All that we know for sure about the sysreqs for BF3 so far other than it requiring DX10+ and not supporting XP is a tweet by one of the programmers, who said if you can run Bad Company 2 perfectly on your PC you’ll be fine for BF3… but I doubt your PC would qualify as running BC2 perfectly.

    Like I said, you’ll probably be able to run it on minimum, but to get the full experience you’ll want to upgrade. It’s probably not as expensive as you think though – you can get an excellent high end CPU for 200 bucks or less, motherboard will only run you ~100 and RAM another ~50-100 depending on what speed and manufacturer you get. You could upgrade to a system that will run BF3 on max settings (presumably) for around $600 I’d say, especially if you wait a few months.

    February 28, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  4. I meant to say that $600 figure is for a high end CPU and mobo, good DDR3 ram, and a mid/high end dx11 card.

    I’m assuming you can use your current case/fans/psu/peripherials

    February 28, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    • Yes my bro said he will combine all components if I buy them. He also said it is much favorable then buying a new computer. He did always combine all of my new computer stuff.

      But I didnt assume that I have upgrade this year as we didnt know about BF3 some month ago :D

      Btw I can run BC2 on my computer.. If i remember it was running fine on medium settings or so.. I just didnt play it much then because it is so differend to BF2 and BF2142 in gameplay.

      Anyway I must buy new components as I wouldnt like to play BF3 on low or so. I do not have to buy anything yet.. I still can save money and decide what I do with the money when BF3 is released.

      Thanks so much for all your great thoughts here :)

      February 28, 2011 at 11:29 pm

  5. Thexsilly

    Hello i was reading this and im just wondering if my pc wil handle it so here are my specs
    Xfx gf gts250 1gb
    AMD anthlon 64 x2 @ 2.23ghz or more i think
    4gb of ram
    750gb hdd

    Runing os win 7
    Bfbc2 runing on highest settings all options turned on
    Will it be good ? Im thinkin about new mobo and phenom x4 or x6 plus maybe 8gb of ram :) but im trying to see if my pc will stil run bf3

    February 28, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    • I think your system is a lot slower then mine so all the comments of Ennui probably takes effect in your case as well..(in temporary theory as there is no official system requiments revealed).

      February 28, 2011 at 11:32 pm

  6. Ok dunno… I just loaded the Crysis 2 demo and I can play it on “hardcore”. But I dont know if we can compare this engine to frostbyte 2.0.

    However i had no problems with crysis 2 and very high settings. Now I deinstall as this game is horrible. Just an xbox port or so. Not my taste.

    March 5, 2011 at 12:18 am

  7. Kenkou

    I can run Bad Company 2 just fine 60 fps avg. all at max 1680×1050 only AA off with Phenom II x4 945 (3.0ghz), 4gb ram, evga 9800gtx+ 1gb version

    March 6, 2011 at 7:24 pm

  8. Im not sure if I played BC2 on medium or high settings.. I did not play it much as it was total differend then Battlefield 2.. BC2 wasnt the kind of game I like.. :/

    Maybe I should borrow it again from a friend.. just so that I can check out my system and what kind of graficsettings I can apply.

    However I think anyway that I will buy new hardware til autumn or so. Dunno.

    March 6, 2011 at 8:06 pm

  9. i would like to know if i would be ably to play bf3, my specs are
    phenom 2 x4 965 (3.4ghz)
    4 gig ddr3 1600)
    his radeon hd 5770 oc to 950)
    i can run battlefield bad company 2 on high settings running around 160 fps.

    would my system be ably to play bf3 please i would like to know so i can by the hardware before bf3 comes out.

    April 13, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  10. Nguyen

    I’m in Viet Nam. I really excited to know bf3 coming soon, but my problem is my system can handle that game on low. My system is Core 2 duo E6600 2.4GHZ, ram 2GB TEAM DDR3 and 1GB GIGABYTE GT220. Can I handle that awesome game?

    April 20, 2011 at 1:17 pm

  11. As we all wrote here we still cant be sure complete about what system speccs we will need, as long there is no demo for this game, no system specc informations and the released game.

    Sadly we all must still wait for that informations. Im sure EA will tell us soon.

    However I think your both systems sounds still great. But as I said.. we must wait for informations from Dice or EA. :)

    April 20, 2011 at 2:19 pm

  12. I just hope we get a battlefield 3 demo soon. I am so nosy. Nevermind if battlefield 3 singleplayer demo or battlefield 3 multiplayer demo. I just want to check out my system :)

    May 14, 2011 at 5:09 pm

  13. Alex

    This is not going to be able to run it is it?
    HP pavillion elite (2009 approx)
    OS: Windows Vista (WHY!!!?!?!) home premium
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz (8CPUs) 2.7GHz
    Memory: 613 4mb RAM
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GT 120
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    Sound: Realtek HDMI Output

    I can play Bad Company 2 fine no problem. I put the resolution smack down to the bottom because I couldn’t be asked to fiddle but the frame rate is good, no lag what so ever.

    May 26, 2011 at 6:48 pm

  14. As I said. We all should wait for a demo. I think nobody can say until the system speccs are official announced. Or a demo released. :)

    May 26, 2011 at 8:58 pm

  15. mario

    hey what os do you have
    you need vista or w7
    cause its not dx9 compatible

    July 9, 2011 at 9:33 am

  16. mario

    ill get w7 64bit
    so i gate new update for crysis 2 XD

    July 9, 2011 at 9:34 am

  17. mario

    GET SORRY LOL

    July 9, 2011 at 9:35 am

  18. I have already Windows 7 64 bit since it is released.

    Btw.. a German game (http://www.4players.de/4players.php/spielinfonews/Allgemein/17593/2066387/#.ThcsAzclA7c.facebook) magazin wrote that Gamestop posted the system speccs…

    Minimum

    Hard Drive Space: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version
    Operating System: Windows Vista or Windows 7
    Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
    RAM: 2GB
    Video Card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card

    Recommended

    Hard Drive Space: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version
    Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
    Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
    RAM: 4GB
    Video Card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850

    Looks not like high system speccs.. however I dont know if this is true.

    July 9, 2011 at 9:42 am

    • mario

      i dont think its official
      but maybe gamestop got
      a heads up on em
      so if u get a x4 like
      phenom ii x4 840 (3.2)
      -btw now its like 99.99-
      and a gtx 460 1gb
      ull be all set

      July 16, 2011 at 8:19 pm

      • Yep. Thats what I wrote above your comment ;)

        July 18, 2011 at 4:56 pm

  19. mario

    HEY DO YOU HAVE YOUR PRE-ORDER
    U GET FREE STUFF FROM GAMESTOP
    LIKE A DLC PACK THATS LIKE CALL OF DUTY
    ZOMBIES YOU KNOW NEVER ENDING WAVES
    OF THEM AND STUFF HOPE YOU GET IT
    I AM, MAYBE WE PLAY TOGETER XD

    August 15, 2011 at 8:50 am

    • I will pre order on amazon just to get back to karkant. I dont know what you mean with zombies. My last call of duty I played was Call of Duty with United Offensive. All Call of Duty games after these wasn´t my favor. I never played one of these new CoD´s for a long time. It was boring me.

      Btw… you have caps on :P

      August 15, 2011 at 10:31 am

  20. Aaron

    You’d be suprised what a system can handle when it’s running in 1280×720. That’s how the consoles handle all the games they’re running.

    If you have a 1080p monitor it can also be shifted to 720p, still look nice, and allow you to keep much of the eye candy you would lose trying to run it at your monitor’s native resolution.

    If you don’t have a 16:9 monitor change the resolution to half of whatever it normally is. Many people have a resolution of 1440×900 so try to find something about 720×450. It seems really low, but you have to remember that your average DVD is in a resolution of 720×480.

    I guess the TL;DR version of this is to try messing with lower resolutions. It’s a very powerful technique to let you deal with weaker hardware without sacrificing so much eyecandy.

    As for a setup, I can recommned either an AMD Phenom II x4 965 or Core i3 2100 (sandy bridge) Graphics card of my choice to pair with either of these processors is the Radeon HD6870 1GB. If you ever wanted to crossfire the 6870, I recommend you go with the i5 2500K from the start to ensure your CPU keeps up with both graphics cards.

    However… I think you wanna keep your current rig, right? Fortunately your Gigabyte M56S-S3 motherboard has an AM2+ socket that can be equipped with an AM2+ compatible Phenom II processor.

    Newegg has great prices and ships to all 50 states if you’re living in America. This is the processor I’d definitely recommend, and is fully compatible with your current motherboard:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808

    Graphics card I recommended is a nice price too:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814141124

    That thing is a calm and collected beast and, paired with that Phenom II above, will be able to run any game at 1080p

    The only thing you’d worry about now is your power supply, but if you have 500+ watts, you’re fine.

    GOOD LUCK!

    August 23, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    • I have a 16:9 screen with a native resolution of 1680 x 1050 which might be a real problem for BF3 if my hardware is to slow. Can I go down to the next 16:9 resolution of this not native anymore then?

      I actually have a 500watt “LC Power” power supply. Here in germany and german forums they told me that this one is crap and that I should buy a better label. I dont know why.. it is running fine but maybe not with future hardware.

      At the moment I think about buying a gtx 560 for battlefield or maybe if I have more money saved a 580 gtx. Depends on how much money I can save til october and depends if I need a new power supply or not.

      But if I would buy a cpu I would buy a complete new cpu next year. I hope my recent cpu can handle a 560 or 580. I really cant spend more money this year as there are still some other outgoings. I must be in the limit of 400 € for new hardware this year. Next year will be another topic.

      I just hope I can play that game anyhow on any way as all my friends want to play it. :)

      Thanks for your big feedback.. you gave me a lot of informations. The only thing is I always bought amd and nvidia.. so I want to be faithful for them as I never had problems with them. :)

      August 23, 2011 at 6:49 pm

  21. Today I bought a corsair TX 650W Revision 2 Power Supply.
    So my system should be now capable for a new graficcard.

    Next month I will buy the Gainward Gefore GTX 570. I think then my system should be ready for Battlefield 3 and I still can decide to buy a new mainboard and cpu until winter if its not enought when BF3 is released.
    :)

    September 2, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    • Ok bought the Gainward Geforce GTX 570 Phantom early this month. I just couldn´t wait :D

      September 7, 2011 at 10:57 am

  22. My system can run Battlefield 3 Beta very well. No FPS problems. Only change made to my mentioned system speccs above in the blogpost was that I bought a Gainward GTX 570 Phantom. BF3 is running smooth.

    October 1, 2011 at 2:40 am

  23. Hi, I have the same CPU cycles like you have two AMD 6000 +. If you can shew on what setting you igraeshv Batlefild 3 and many FPS you get.

    I want to buy a N560GTX Twin Frozr II / OC.

    http://ru.msi.com/product/vga/N560GTX-Twin-Frozr-II-OC.html

    Waiting for your answer because as buying soon but I doubt in the power of its CPU cycles. Sorry for my English translated using google translator

    February 5, 2012 at 8:13 am

    • I had no problems playing BF3 but I did remove my GTS250 for a GeForce Phantom 570. I cant remind the FPS I had. I dont play BF3 anymore. However.. I know it was fluent on my system with high settings.

      February 6, 2012 at 4:21 am

  24. Thank you for your reply

    February 6, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers