Just Another Boring Blog About Different Subjects

Uploaded my first Meshproduct to the Maingrid


Last few days I was often online on the Second Life Beta Grid. Just to check out all about mesh import. To get a little feeling for it. I made a spiral staircase but had a lot trouble with to much polygons. In fact I never did take care about polygons when I did work with my 3d application called Cinema 4d. I did not because my system is fast enough to handle those renderings I made. I did not create animations anyway.. just static pictures from objects I made.

OK but we talk about mesh import for Second Life now. Its now all over the main grid and as objects should rather be low poly for games, I had to learn a new workflow then. So my first spiral staircase had 10k polygons which is pretty much if we talk about Second Life. Some friendly peoples in the forums gave me much feedback and many ideas. I reduced the staircase to 5k polys then. Thought its still much. Finaly I reduced it to round about 1k polys but I changed my first idea of the staircase… the whole thing changed a lot in that time. But 1k polys.. I thought this was now good enough to try a test upload. I just had the feeling that I made a good compromise between quality of the object but also poly count and later prim equivs.

But then I had a next mission. What the heck is all that about physics? Gave me some headache.. no no.. I really do understand physics but my target was to learn how I can reduce PE. Friendly peoples told me about the solution to make own and hard poly reducs physic shapes to lower the PE. I made many trys for that solution but tose who told me about that all… they were a great help. I think thats what I like in Second Life. The community is mostly helpful and friendly. So.. Still on the beta grid I made tons of test uploads to understand that all. Its crazy how hard the PE value can vary depending on the physical quality and the LOD (Level of Detail). Much much trys but then I was happy.. all my tests and I had all values.. yea a PE of 100.. a PE of 80… ohhh PE of 50.. but then.. look! Finaly I got a PE of 17! I was now pretty much motivated and happy. I think PE 17 means this mesh is equal to 17 prims. Im not sure how others would judge at this point. But I reduced the PE from 100 to 17 and that made me happy.

I just was so happy that I uploaded it to the main grid then. I know there are sculpy staircases out there with maybe 2 – 4 prims or so. I still wonder how to make these with sculptys. But at least sculting is anyway not my favorite art. I always liked mesh applications.. IN fact I dont know how to make a staircase with a sculpty software but instead of that I know how to do it with my 3d application.. So yes! I am happy with 17 prims for this kind of spiral staircase and I probably will use it in many new projects. Im not new to mesh but I am new to mesh import to second life.. so who knows.. maybe I can still improbe that PE someday.

I am just happy that mesh has finaly arrived and that I now have a new playground and new posibiltys. Even if I need to improve my workflow 🙂 Hope some of you have also fun and some excited hours with Second Life. Greetings 😉

Leave a Reply

